Merge Notes

When two (series) become one

Mikaela Friedrich avatar
Written by Mikaela Friedrich
Updated today

Keep everything organized by merging similar note series together!

The Basics

Terminology

  • Destination note: the note that you are currently viewing, and would like to keep. This note will have the content added to it.

  • Source note: the note that you would like to merge into the destination note. Once merged, the notes in the source note will show up as part of the destination note and the original source note will no longer exist.

Notes that can be merged together

You're able to merge the following notes together:

  • Private/Shared ↔︎ Meeting

  • Private/Shared ↔︎ Personal/Shared

  • Meeting ↔︎ Meeting

  • Private/Shared → 1-on-1

  • Meeting → 1-on-1

  • Cancelled Meeting → New Meeting

** Note: While private/shared notes and meetings notes can be merged into each other, you'll only be able to merge content into a 1-on-1. A 1-on-1 can NOT be merged into another note series.

How to Merge Notes

  1. From the destination note (a.k.a the note that you would like to keep going forward), click on the three dot menu button in the top right corner and click on Merge.

  2. You will then see a window with suggestions for source notes.

    If the note that you would like to merge is not on the list, you can search for the name of the note in the search bar.

  3. Select the note that you would like to merge. Press Next

  4. Review the details of the merge including user access, calendar events, templates, integrations, and/or automations.

    1. If some users have limited access, you'll have the option to share all the notes with them via a check box.

  5. Press Merge Series.

  6. You'll now see a merged note containing all those notes in one continuous note series.

  7. You'll also see all the related calendar events under meeting settings --> Calendar events.

FAQs

Can I un-merge notes?

You may have come across a situation where you would like to undo a merge of two notes. Unfortunately, there isn't an easy way to separate a note once it has been merged.

While there isn't a way to retroactively split notes, if you would like to separate the information moving forward (so once new notes are added), we suggest creating a new calendar event. By creating a new calendar event the information will no longer be linked to the merged note.

Who can see the merged notes?

Before merging notes, you'll see recap of user's access.

When two notes are merged, the users who are not an attendee of the two meetings will get partial access. This means that they won't be able to see the meeting notes that they were not originally a part of.

To give them full access, you'll just need to share the note. This can be done via the checkbox as shown above.

What will happen to my note settings/integrations?

All Note Settings in the destination note series will be automatically applied to the notes merged in. This includes automations, integrations, templates, and objectives.

These preferences will be applied going forward. So if you have an integration set-up in the destination note, content from source notes will not be automatically synced with your task management tool (like Asana, monday.com, ClickUp, Trello).

What order will the notes appear?

Notes will be ordered by the date each note was created. If you create an unscheduled note, this will be timestamped with the date it was created and it will be filed accordingly.

What title will show at the top of the meeting series?

Titles for meetings automatically change their name to match the latest meeting, unless you've set the title manually in Fellow. This is so that if you change the name of a recurring meeting, the stream's name will automatically change.


Related Articles:

Did this answer your question?